Posted by: Lizzie Ross | November 5, 2010

Guy Fawkes

Nov. 5. Guy Fawkes’ Day. Penny for the guy? And bonfire night!! So much better than Halloween!

Strange British holiday celebrating the fact that the Houses of Parliament weren’t blown up and King James I wasn’t assassinated, way back in the early 1600s. (Some Catholics weren’t happy with their Protestant ruler.)

I hope to pass 10,000 words on my NaNo novel before bedtime, but for now, a break to listen to John Lennon’s Remember, with its reference to this special day. Ka-boom.

Responses

  1. Here in Harrow Weald it sounds like a war zone. Not only is it Guy Fawkes night, it’s also Diwali, the festival of Lights. There are rockets falling behind the garden, rat-a-tats peppering the street in front of my house, Catherine wheels along the back streets and serious fireworks displays in Kenton and Kingsbuty out my study window. The air smells acrid, too. I’m an old fart – I want it all to go away as soon as possible.

  2. Yes, well, I’m pretty much right behind you. I absolutely detest 4 July detonations, but I still like night-time fireworks. Louisa and I still recall nearly setting our shed on fire in 1995 with a Catherine wheel!


Leave a Reply

Categories

