Posted by: Lizzie Ross | November 12, 2010

Proust, sort of

Courtesy Flickr, ilvic

A good friend recently gave me a new book, Edmund de Waal’s The Hare with Amber Eyes. Then, yesterday, I read a review of the book in the NYRB (Oct. 14, 2010) and learned a bit more about the author, which I summarize below.

He’s a potter/artist (beautiful work; photos of his installations available on his website) who inherited a huge collection of netsuke from a great uncle. This inheritance sent him on a journey through Europe and Asia, tracing the netsuke through generations of family members who had owned them.

And here’s the connection to Proust: de Waal’s great-grandfather’s cousin, Charles Ephrussi, could have been an inspiration for Swann. Perfect. (And the connection is why my friend gave me the book in the first place.)

I had put de Waal’s book on my shelf, to read over the holidays, but I don’t think I can wait that long. It’ll be my reward for a good day’s writing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

