Posted by: Lizzie Ross | July 10, 2012

Summer Reading List

Lists are such wonderful things. I like book lists, because it gives me great satisfaction to see where my likes and someone else’s overlap (or don’t, as the case may be). I can go superior (you could be reading much higher, you know), or inferior (OMG, I want to Dinner With Andre with this person!), or even high school snooty (that book? seriously? that is so gross).

I’m on vacation now: island, sunshine, beaches, shallow bays, great blue herons. Not the tropics, or even the Caribbean, but gorgeous and quiet. The loudest thing around is the nearly silent dishwasher.

So, what did I bring? I filled my e-reader with free books by E Nesbit, Charles Dickens, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, and all sorts of other goodies, but I also came with analog books: Gary Paulsen’s Hatchett (good survivalist fare), Lily’s Crossing and Hollis Woods by P R Giff, John Gardner’s The Art of Fiction and Teju Cole’s Open City (for a writing course I’ll be teaching soon). Also Becoming Jane Eyre and The Black Death — two books I picked up for a song. And finally David Mitchell’s The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet, which I started last winter and want to finish.

That’s a good range. It’ll keep me occupied for all those quiet afternoons and evenings. Something old, something new, something easy and something that’ll take my mind for a brisk run.

Leave a Reply

Categories

